top of page
  • Writer's pictureLucas Nava

USDA's Cosby: "NRCS enlists a wide variety of conservation practices to help livestock producers"

Click on the link to see the original article.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has announced an investment of up to $12 million in partnerships for the purpose of improving the application of conservation practices on designated grazing lands, as well as expanding livestock farmers' access to technical assistance for conservation; a recent news releasefrom the department said.

The department's Natural Resources Conversation Service (NRCS) will be accepting proposals through its Grazing Lands Conservation Initiative (GLCI) until Sept. 22.

GLCI Cooperative Agreements project proposals are encouraged to identify and address the various roadblocks to grazing assistance access faced by producers. Partnerships should include outreach and support for marginalized and underserved producers. In addition, project goals should meet one or more of the following criteria:

- Address local natural resource concerns.

- Use climate-smart agriculture and forestry practices and principles.

- Encourage existing and new partnerships through emphasizing equity in advancing the resource needs of underserved communities.

- Identify and implement strategies to quantify, monitor, report on and verify conservation benefits associated with grazing management systems.

Through the GLCI, the NRCS will expand on the preexisting technical support for farmers and ranchers involved in grazing operations, as well as aid grazers looking for additional resources.

“Privately owned grazing lands cover nearly 30 percent of the national landscape, which means we have a tremendous opportunity to address climate change and conserve natural resources through voluntary, private lands conservation,” NRCS Chief Terry Cosby said in the release. “NRCS enlists a wide variety of conservation practices to help livestock producers. These partnerships will also help us expand the footprint of conservation on grazing lands and could help better reach historically underserved producers.”

Eligibility is limited to certain types of entities located in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the Caribbean and Pacific Islands areas.

To apply or learn more, visit

2 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page